• Română
  • English

About institute


The Institute of Genetics, Physiology and Plant Protection was founded on 1 October 2013 at the initiative of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova  by merging the Institute of Genetics and Plant Physiology of the ASM and the Institute ofPlant Protection and Ecological Agriculture of the ASM in accordance with Government Decision No. 270 of 04.18.2013.

The Institutes merged  hold a history  of  several  decades founded on recognized scientific achievements in the country and abroad.

The Institute of Genetics and Plant Physiology of the ASM was established in 2005 by merger of the Institute of Genetics and Plant Physiology of the ASM, Department of Aromatic and Medicinal Plants of the Research Institute for Maize and Sorghum «Porumbeni». Performance trends have had a profound and lasting development. Theoretical bases of research in genetics and plant breeding were confirmed by establishing the Institute of Ecological Genetics in 1985, which in 1991 was renamed into the Institute of Genetics of the ASM. Research in Plant Physiology and Biochemistry have been consolidated in the Institute of Plant Physiology and Biochemistry, founded in 1960 and renamed in 1991 into the Institute of Plant Physiology.

The history of the Institute of  Plant Protection and  Ecological Agriculture of the ASM has begun since 1969 when the All-Union Research Institute of Biological  Plant  Protection  was set up. Setting up the Institute  wasconditioned by the need to develop alternative to chemical methods of plant protection and to cease dangerous impact of agriculture chemizationFor over forty years the Institute has undergone certain restructurings being named as follows: the All-Union Research Institute of  Biological  Plant  Protection (1969 – 1992), the  Institute of  Biological  Plant Protection of the ASM (1992 – 1999), the Research Institute for Plant Protection of the MAIA (1999 – 2005).


Organizational Chart

Legislative framework

Research Directions

Composition of the Administrative Council

Composition of the Scientific Council